top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetamarcanady

True Confession: I Cry at the Weddings I Photograph!

It's true; I end up crying at least once at every wedding I shoot.

Sometimes it's during the vows. Frequently it's when the groom dances with his mother. But this is the story of one of my favorite wedding crying memories.


wedding rings, bouquet, and invitation
Wedding rings in keepsake box

This particular wedding venue, The Palladium Event Center, had a really pretty bridal room, which also happened to be super convenient for the photographer to stash her stuff. My bride finished getting ready with her bridesmaids and flower girls, I took some impromptu shots, and then her mother came in.

Her mom looked a little bit stiff and nervous, so I asked, with Spanish translation assistance from the other ladies, what was her favorite part of her daughter on her wedding day? There were a lot of things to choose from- her bouquet had gorgeous crystals in it, her hair was absolutely perfect, and her eyes were shining with happiness.


But the mother of the bride didn't choose any one of those things. When I asked what was her favorite thing, she said, "Todos." No translation was necessary; tears instantly sprung to my eyes, and I was not the only one. Her mother looked with pride and love on every single thing about her daughter on her wedding day, and every single one of us in that little room started crying.

It is still one of my favorite wedding photography moments. I think I will always remember that beautiful mother-daughter moment. Todos.


Mother wipes the bride's tears
Mother of the Bride makes us all cry

 

If you enjoyed this article, check out my Instagram posts from this wedding!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page